Vijay Hazare Trophy – A huge margin for Karnataka; All out for Pondicherry 53 runs

Karnataka beat Pondicherry – The 50-over festival has begun after the T20 tourney in India. Karnataka won the first match of the Vijay Hazare Trophy starting today.

Vijay hazare trophy 2021

Karnataka has kicked off the Vijay Hazare ODI Cricket Tournament starting today. Karnataka won by 236 runs in Pondicherry’s Group B match at Mangalore, Kerala today. Chasing a huge target of 289 in Karnataka, Pondicherry were all out for 53. Jagadeesh Suchit ponded to spin spin as Pondicherry batters litter. Suchit bowled 3 overs and took 4 wickets. New fast bowling talent Vasuki Kaushik took 3 wickets for 19 runs.

Former Karnataka player Pawan Deshpande became the highest scoring batter for Pondicherry. He scored 16 runs. Only three batsmen, including him, managed to score double figures.

Karnataka lost the toss and batted first. Rohan Kadam was dismissed in the first over but Ravikumar Samarth and K Siddharth contributed 153 for the 2nd wicket. Then Srinivas Sharath and Manish Pandey shared 95 runs for the 5th wicket. R Samarth missed the century by just 5 runs. K Siddharth, Manish Pandey and S Sarath made half centuries. As a result, Karnataka was able to amass a huge total of 289 runs for the loss of 6 wickets. 

Vijay Hazare Trophy - A huge margin for Karnataka; All out for Pondicherry 53 runs
Vijay Hazare Trophy – A huge margin for Karnataka; All out for Pondicherry 53 runs

The Pondicherry batsmen, who are almost full of non-resident players, could not resist the bowling attack of Karnataka. Surrendered to defeat without any resistance. Karnataka got 4 points with the win. K Karippa, M Venkatesh, S Sarath and Vidyadhar Patil played for the first time in the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Result of other matches:

Gujarat, Vidarbha, Kerala, Goa, Mizoram, Meghalaya and Nagaland start off with wins.

Karnataka-Pondicherry Match Score Details:

(Ravikumar Samarth 95, Manish Pandey 64, K Siddharth 61, S Sarath 55) Sagar Trivedi 72/2, Subodh Bhati

(Pawan Deshpande 16 Run- Jagadeesha Suchit ¾, Vasuki Kaushik 19/3)

A total of 38 teams are playing in the tournament, divided into six groups. The five groups are elite groups with six teams each. Placed in the Plate Group of the eight lowest ranked teams.

Like the Mushtaq Ali Trophy T20, the top teams in the Elite Group will enter the quarterfinals of the Vijay Hazare Trophy. The top five teams in the group and the top teams in the plate group enter the quarterfinals.

Group A: Gujarat, Vidarbha, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Odisha, Andhra,

Group B: Karnataka, Puducherry, Tamil Nadu, Mumbai, Bengal, Baroda,

Group C: Jharkhand, Delhi, Haryana, Hyderabad, Saurashtra, Uttar Pradesh ,

Group D: Kerala, Chandigarh, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Chhattisgarh, Uttarakhand

Group E: Goa, Assam, Punjab, Rajasthan, Services, Railways,

Plate Group: Meghalaya, Nagaland, Manipur, Sikkim, Bihar, Mizoram, Tripura, Arunachal Pradesh.