WBBL 2021: Smriti Mandhana created history in Big Bash League, by scoring a century.

WBBL 2021: After losing the toss and opting to bat first, Melbourne scored 175 runs for the loss of 4 wickets, after which Smriti Mandhana played a historic innings.

Melbourne Renegades Women vs Sydney Thunder Women, Womens Big Bash League 2021:

Indian female cricketer Smriti Mandhana has created history in the Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL).¬†Smriti Mandhana played an unbeaten innings of 114 runs in 64 balls with the help of 3 sixes and 14 fours against Melbourne Renegades Women on 17 November.¬†With this, Smriti Mandhana has become the first Indian woman to score a century in the Big Bash League.¬†

With this innings, Smriti Mandhana has also equaled Australian batsman Ashleigh Gardner’s highest individual score in WBBL history.¬†However, this innings of Smriti Mandhana did not work for the team and Sydney Thunder got out of the final race after losing the match by 4 runs.¬†The team needed a six off the last ball, but Smriti Mandhana could not win the team.

After losing the toss in the match, Melbourne went to bat first and scored 175 runs for the loss of 4 wickets. The team had lost its two wickets till the score of 9, after which Evelyn Jones along with Harmanpreet Kaur collected 91 runs for the third wicket.

Smriti Mandhana created history by scoring a century, became the first Indian cricketer to do so.

The team needed 63 runs in the last five overs.¬†Mandhana, showing aggression, scored 24 runs in the 18th over on Holly Furling.¬†After this he completed his century in 57 balls, but the team needed 22 runs in the last two overs to win.¬†Renegades captain Sophie Molineau conceded just nine runs in the 19th over and Mandhana had to face her national captain Harmanpreet’s off-spin in the last over.

WBBL 2021: Smriti Mandhana created history in Big Bash League, by scoring a century.

Jones was dismissed for 42 runs in 33 balls, after which Harmanpreet put on 75 runs for the fourth wicket with Jess Duffin. Duffin was run out on 33, while Harmanpreet Kaur scored an unbeaten 81 in 55 balls with the help of 13 boundaries. On behalf of the opposition team, Samantha Bates took 2, while Wong took 1 wicket in his name.

Chasing the target, Sydney Thunder lost the wicket of Sammy Johnson (12) on the sum of 31, after which Phoebe Litchfield returned to the pavilion adding just 1 run.

From here opener Smriti Mandhana took the lead.¬†She shared an unbroken 125-run partnership for the third wicket with Tahila Wilson, but she failed to hit a six off Harmanpreet Kaur’s last ball.¬†Harmanpreet Kaur and Rhiann O Donnell took 1-1 wickets for Melbourne.

AlSo read: Kapil Dev presented the report card of Kohli-Shastri, 10 percent marks were deducted for this.